August graded: closing date 7th August

Please note the closing date for the the 10th August graded meeting is Saturday 7th August.

Details and entry

TOKYO update

In today's evening session in the Tokyo Olympic stadium three Woodford athletes exited at the semi-final stage. Closest to making the final was Dan Rowden in the 800m who Saturday placed 2nd in his heat with 1m45.73 secs to progress to the semi. With three semi-finals and the first two in each plus the two fastest losers progressing to the final, Dan finished 5th with a season's best of 1m 44.35 secs and with the first four from his heat making the final Dan was the third fastest loser across the three heats. Dan missed a final place by 0.05 secs and after being slightly baulked with 100m to go he finished the fastest but could not find a way through a crowded field. Sisters Tiffany Porter and Cindy Sember both also exited at the semi-final stage. Tiffany was 5th in her semi with 12.86 secs (0.0) having qualified from her heat with 12.85 secs (+1.2). Cindy who had finished 4th in the final in Rio was 7th in her semi which was very fast and won in an Olympic record and she  recorded 12.76 secs (+0.7) significantly faster than her heat where she qualified as a fastest loser with 13.00 (+1.0). On Friday Phil Norman placed 14th in his heat of the 3000m s/ch recording 8m46.57 secs some way off his early season form where he recorded 8m20.12 secs to earn his Olympic place.

TOKYO Olympics timetable for Woodford athletes - UPDATED

As the Olympics get under way in Tokyo, the Track and Field events will commence tomorrow,  Friday, July 30th with Phil Norman (3000m s/ch) at 9.30 a.m Tokyo time  (01.30 BST ) the first in action. The second day (Saturday 31st) will see Dan Rowden in the 800m heats, 9.50 a.m. Tokyo time (01.50 BST ) and sisters Tiffany Porter and Cindy Sember both in the 100mH heats immediately following the men's 800m heats commencing at 10.45 a.m. Tokyo time (02.45 BST).

WGEL Juniors not phased by Intense Heat at Dartford

The WGEL Juniors took part in the 2nd league match in the YDL Lower at Dartford and come away very pleased with a 2nd place. 

1) Havering AC - 586.5 

2) WGEL AC     - 483.0 

3) Basildon AC -  414.0 

4) Dartford H     - 367.5 

5) NEB              - 253.0 

6) VPTH            - 115.0 

Who's Online

We have 59 guests and no members online