Frank Webb Trophy 2015/16 - Final Rankings

Attendance at the National Championships determined the outcome of this season's Trophy; after the closest set of rankings since the award started seven years ago, the Trophy was retained by U17M Harry Cavell.  During the season we had five different leaders (Sidnie Ward, Siena Taylor, Joe Geller, Liam Waldron and finally, Harry Cavell) and at one point, Joe and Siena were top equal.  Harry was the only runner able to race in all the scoring events this winter.  The Trophy was awarded at the Young Athlete Awards evening on 1st March.

Final Rankings

This year's total of 30 runners is down on last year (33) and the previous two before that (when we had 38 each year).  The total number of races run (185) was the second lowest since the 161 of the first year (2009/10, when we also has a race cancelled) and considerably down on the totals in the last four years (each with totals of between 229 and 248).  This trend is not encouraging and it means that our teams are much less able to score in the team competitions and there is less opportunity for our athletes to benefit from the shared experience of racing together in these races.

Next winter Harry Cavell moves up to the U20s and out of the Frank Webb rankings so we will have a new winner then.  Well done to all those who took part this season and with over a third of the runners being U13's, there is plenty of scope for these to challenge for next winter's award.