Frank Webb Trophy 2017/18 - final rankings

The National Cross Country Championships at Parliament Hill was the final scoring event in this winter's Frank Webb Trophy rankings.  The season long leader, Jimmy Geller (U13B) was confirmed as the Trophy winner with a pack of chasing U13s behind.  As Kai Boggan and Sidnie Ward (U15Bs) were competing elsewhere during the Nationals, this allowed Miya Maeda to leapfrog to second place, Nathan Wright and Evan Johnson to equal third and U15B Kieran Allgood to fifth.

Behind these, Jimmy's brother U17M Joe Geller finished in sixth on 164 points with U15B Rhys Edwards (who picked up the maximum 55 pints for his Nationals run) on 163.  Twins Ben and Sam Sloan contrived to finish just five points apart in ninth and tenth.

In total this winter, we had a record 47 athletes finishing in at least one of the scoring races and four raced in the all of the possible events.  A futher 12 runners only missed one of the possible races and a further 5 only missed 2.  Of the top 18 in the table, only one runner missed more than one race.  It is this sort of consistancy across all competitions that has brought Met League and Championship success.  This winter was the first time that we have had two scoring races scheduled for the same day (Met League 3 and the U13/15 Essex Championships) so a hurried rule addition was required to accommodate this.

The trophy will be awarded at the winter awards evening on 24th April.  Well done to all competing athletes.

Final trophy rankings